CONTENTS

Acknowledgements Preface	vii
	V111
Peter Ackroyd (born 1949)	3
Martin Amis (born 1949)	7
Kate Atkinson (born 1951)	12
Beryl Bainbridge (born 1934)	14
Iain Banks (born 1954)	18
Nicola Barker (born 1966)	22
Pat Barker (born 1943)	26
Julian Barnes (born 1946)	30
William Boyd (born 1952)	34
A. S. Byatt (born 1936)	38
Jonathan Coe (born 1961)	43
Jim Crace (born 1946)	47
Louis de Bernières (born 1954)	51
Jenny Diski (born 1947)	54
Helen Dunmore (born 1952)	57
Robert Edric (born 1956)	61
Sebastian Faulks (born 1953)	65
Tibor Fischer (born 1959)	69
Margaret Forster (born 1938)	72
Alasdair Gray (born 1934)	76
Philip Hensher (born 1965)	80
Alan Hollinghurst (born 1954)	84
Nick Hornby (born 1957)	87
Kazuo Ishiguro (born 1954)	91
Howard Jacobson (born 1942)	94
A. L. Kennedy (born 1965)	98
Hanif Kureishi (born 1954)	100
John Lanchester (born 1962)	104
Ian McEwan (born 1948)	107

CONTENTS

Patrick McGrath (born 1950)	112
Shena Mackay (born 1944)	115
Hilary Mantel (born 1952)	120
Timothy Mo (born 1950)	124
Julie Myerson (born 1960)	127
Lawrence Norfolk (born 1963)	131
Caryl Phillips (born 1958)	133
Michèle Roberts (born 1949)	137
Jane Rogers (born 1952)	140
Salman Rushdie (born 1947)	144
Will Self (born 1962)	149
Iain Sinclair (born 1943)	153
Graham Swift (born 1949)	157
Adam Thorpe (born 1956)	161
Rose Tremain (born 1943)	165
Barry Unsworth (born 1930)	168
Alan Wall (born 1951)	172
Alan Warner (born 1964)	176
Sarah Waters (born 1966)	179
Irvine Welsh (born 1958)	182
Jeanette Winterson (born 1959)	185
Index	191