TABLE OF CONTENTS

FORMAL OPENING AND WELCOMING SPEECHES Fernando RUAS, President of the National Association of Portuguese Municipalities..... Joao Bosco MOTA AMARAL, former President and Member of the Assembly of the Republic of Portugal, on behalf of the President of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe......9 Vladimir YAKOVLEV, Minister for Regional Giovanni DI STASI, President of the Congress of José SOCRATES, Prime Minister of Portugal, on behalf of the Chairmanship of the Committee of SESSION 1 chaired by Anders KNAPE, Deputy Mayor of Karlstad, Vice-President of the Congress, Sweden THEME I: "FROM THE CHARTER OF VERSAILLES TO THE EUROPEAN CHARTER OF LOCAL SELF-GOVERNMENT" Heinrich HOFFSCHULTE Vice-President of the German Section of the Jeremy SMITH Secretary General of the Council of European Municipalities and Regions (CEMR) THEME II: "THE CHARTER: AN ACHIEVEMENT FOR DEMOCRATIC STABILITY IN EUROPE" Philip BLAIR, Director of Co-operation for Hans-Ulrich STÖCKLING, State Councillor, Canton of St Gallen, President of the

SESSION 2 chaired by Jan MANS, Mayor of Venlo President of the Institutional Committee of the Chamber of Local Authorities of the Congress, The Netherlands

"MEMBER STATES' COMMITMENTS TO LOCAL DEMOCRACY: ASSESSMENT OF THE 10 YEARS OF MONITORING AND INTERPRETATION OF THE CHARTER"

Anatoly SALTYKOV, Member of the Council of Federation

of the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation Vice-President of the Congress41
Francesco MERLONI, Professor at the University of Perugia, President of the Group of Independent Experts on the Charter, Italy47
Philippe COURARD Walloon Minister of the Interior and of Public Office, Belgium55
SESSION 3 chaired by Guido RHODIO, Mayor of Squillace, Member of the Italian delegation to the Congress, Italy
"THE FUTURE OF SELF-GOVERNMENT AND LOCAL DEMOCRACY IN EUROPE: CHALLENGES TO BE OVERCOME"
Emil CALOTA, Mayor of Ploiesti Member of the Romanian delegation to the Congress President of the Association of Municipalities of Romania
Wim DEETMAN, Mayor of The Hague President of the Association of Dutch Municipalities, First Vice-President of the CEMR, The Netherlands
CONCLUSIONS OF THE CONFERENCE
Presentation of the conclusions by Giovanni DI STASI, President of the Congress
APPENDIX
Programme 77